The problems of not living in the market of your favorite team…

Let me walk you through a day in the life of how I follow the White Sox. Ill skip all the boring parts like showering and eating and the like…

After waking up, i sit down at my computer and check the White Sox website, looking for news about the upcoming game/series/whatever.

Once that’s done, I head over to mlb.com and look through their page.

Then I head to this page and check all the feeds.

Throughout the rest of the day I’ll check back with both these sites….

At gametime, I go to ESPN and see if it’s a rare day and the Sox game is on there. 999 out of 1000 it is not.

On days when the Sox play the Yankees, I turn on YES (all yankees, all the time *barf*), otherwise I log on to mlb.com and click on the field icon next to the sox scoreboard.

There, a window opens that has a field on the left with all the players named, on the right are the rosters and stats. Directly in the middle is a batter with a strike zone box, with a detail window below and a player box above. This is where all the excitement happens.

It’s fairly live, pitches show up several seconds after they happen and details of plays happen in the field box on the left as well as in the center box.

In other words, it’s not fun at all.

BUT.

I don’t just sit there and stare at this window. I’m not a loser (most of the time). Usually I have it minimized and come back to it every now and again, and depending on what is going on, what the score is, and what inning, I’ll either minimize or watch. Exciting, huh?

It’s not terrible, but it’s also frustratingly tedious and not very fun.

Now, MLB has two services that I could subscribe to, MLBTV and Gameday Audio. MLBTV isn’t cheap, and I’m concerned with the quality. Nothing like watching Konerko step up to bat in the bottom of the ninth and just as he swings net-lag hits.

As far as the audio goes, I’ve gotten it before. And I’l be honest, I have no idea why I don’t have it now. It’s only nine bucks for the year. I can afford that.

You know, tomorrow I’m buying the dang thing. šŸ˜‰

Then at least I can have audio as I watch the gameday box.

Leave a comment